ChatGPT free trial
ChatGPT helps you get answers, find inspiration, and be more productive.
ChatGPT has no free trial, but it has a free plan you can keep. Paid plans start at $20 a month.
Checked by us on 2 October 2026help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-…
- Free days
- Not stated
- Card to start
- Not stated
- Free plan
- Yes
- Then you pay
- $20/mo
- billed monthly
What their page says
We checked openai.com ourselves.
ChatGPT Plus is $20 a month, billed monthly only. OpenAI has no free trial of Plus open to everyone: free Plus comes only through promotions (invite codes, partner codes, and a US student offer to claim by 31 October 2026).
Price: $20/month (billed monthly).See it on their page
The free version of ChatGPT is available to everyone.See it on their page
OpenAI may make available to eligible users the ability to invite their friends and family to a free, limited-duration trial of an otherwise paid ChatGPT subscription.See it on their page
Before you start
The free plan is the real deal
It stays free. The catch: OpenAI may make available to eligible users the ability to invite their friends and family to a free, limited-duration trial of an otherwise…
How it compares in AI chat and research
16 tools in this category.
Free days
More AI chat and research tools
ChatGPT free trial: questions
Does ChatGPT have a free trial?
Not a trial with an end date. But there is a free plan you can keep.
Does ChatGPT ask for a credit card?
Their page does not say. Check before you sign up.
How much does ChatGPT cost after the free trial?
The cheapest plan on their page is $20 a month.
What is missing on the free ChatGPT plan?
OpenAI may make available to eligible users the ability to invite their friends and family to a free, limited-duration trial of an otherwise paid ChatGPT subscription.
Where do these ChatGPT facts come from?
We checked openai.com ourselves. Each fact on this page shows what we found.
Work at ChatGPT? Give readers a longer free trial and we show it here. See how