Ui design tool free trial: how long each one lasts, and who asks for a card
Written from 11 price pages we read ourselves. Checked 1h ago.
The longest free trial in this UI design and prototyping group is 30 days, from Sketch. Seven of the 16 tools that answer the trial question say you do not need a card. Fourteen of all 17 tools have a free plan. The category includes 17 pricing pages, but one does not answer the free-trial question.
Free trials and card requirements
UXPin gives you 14 days. Its pricing page says, “Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial” and “No credit card required.” After that, you can keep using its limited free plan. The paid price listed is $49 a month per seat.
Sketch has the longest trial in this group. Its page says, “Start using Sketch for free for 30 days — no credit card needed.” Sketch does not offer an entirely free plan. Its page says, “we have no plans to offer an entirely free plan.” The listed price is $12 a month per editor, paid yearly.
Balsamiq offers 14 days and does not ask for a card. Its page says, “Try Balsamiq free for 14 days, no credit card required.” It also directly answers the card question: “No, you don't need a credit card to start your free trial.” After 14 days, Balsamiq says it will give you “a nudge to select a plan so you don't lose your work.” Its Starter plan costs $16 a month per editor when billed yearly.
Marvel offers a seven-day trial. The page says, “Start 7 day free trial.” Its card requirement is not stated in the pricing information. Marvel does have a free plan with no time limit. Its page says, “Our free plan has no time-limits,” although that plan is limited to one project. The paid price is €9 a month when billed yearly.
Moqups does not state a trial length. It does say, “No credit card required,” and offers a free plan for as long as you want: “Yes, you can use Moqups for free for as long as you want.” The free plan allows two projects and 400 objects. The paid plan listed costs $12 a month.
Justinmind gives you 10 free days without card details. Its page says, “You can evaluate Justinmind for 10 days for free, without entering any credit card details.” After the trial, the company says it will switch you to its “Free forever edition” if you do not buy a subscription. The listed paid price is $19 a month per editor.
Proto.io offers a 15-day trial. Its page says, “Start 15-day free trial” and “No credit card required.” After the trial, you can move to a free limited plan. Proto.io says, “You will be able to convert your account to a Free limited featured plan as soon as your trial expires.” The listed price is $29 a month.
These are the named tools in the data that clearly state both a trial period and no card requirement. Across the full category, the pricing pages report seven no-card starts. The remaining pages either state another card position or do not give enough information to answer it.
Free plans without a timed trial
Some tools do not publish a trial period because they offer a free plan instead. That can be useful if you want to keep working without a fixed end date, but each free plan has its own limits.
Whimsical does not state a trial length or card requirement in the pricing information. It does offer a free plan. The company says, “With our Free plan, you can have unlimited boards, unlimited workspace members, unlimited guests, 10 AI credits per member, and more.” Exports have a watermark. Its listed paid price is $10 a month per editor.
Spline also does not state a trial length or card requirement. Its pricing page lists “Free” at $0 a month and says, “Start for free.” The free plan has limited personal files. The paid price listed is $15 a month, or $12 a month when billed yearly.
Uizard has no stated trial length or card requirement. Its free plan is “Free for everyone.” The limit shown is three AI generations per month. The paid price is $12 a month when billed yearly.
Penpot lists a 14-day trial, but its pricing data does not state whether a card is needed. It also has a free plan described as “Free and fully featured.” The paid plan costs $7 a month per editor.
The wider set also includes free options from the other tools in the category. The count is 14 free plans out of 17 pricing pages. The free option may continue after a trial, as with UXPin, Justinmind, and Proto.io, or it may be the main way to start, as with Moqups, Whimsical, Spline, and Uizard.
Every figure and every sentence in quotation marks here was read on the company’s own pricing page. If a company changes its page, this one is held back until it has been read again. How we read a price page.