Password managers: free plans and free trials October 2026, checked

Fourteen password managers, read on their own pages. Which are free for good, which free plans are too small to live with, which trials need no card, and what you pay after.
Checked by hand on 2 October 2026, on each company’s own pages.All 22 quotes re-checked 22h ago and still there.

The short answer
If you read nothing else, read this.
- Free for good, with no device or password limit: Bitwarden, Proton Pass, Zoho Vault and Norton, plus the managers built into Apple devices, Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge.
- Free, but small: LastPass works on one device type (computer or phone), NordPass on one active session, Keeper on 1 phone and 10 records, RoboForm on one device, Enpass for 25 items.
- No free plan at all: 1Password and Dashlane. Dashlane ended its free plan on September 16, 2025.
- Longest trials with no card: LastPass and Keeper, 30 days each. 1Password and Dashlane give 14 days.
- Cheapest paid plans: NordPass $1.39 a month and Bitwarden $1.65 a month, both only with the whole term paid up front.
I read 14 password managers. Some are free for good, some only look free.

Compare the paid ones
Nine password managers that sell a plan, side by side. Tap a name for the sentences behind it.
Paid password managers and their trials
LastPassYes, one device typeFree trial 30 days of Premium · Card No card · Then $3 a month, billed yearlyTry free
Keeper1 phone, 10 recordsFree trial 30 days · Card No card · Then $3.58 a month ($42.99 a year)Try free
1PasswordNoFree trial 14 days · Card No card, depending on the offer · Then $2.99 a month the first year, then $3.99Try free
DashlaneNo, ended Sept 2025Free trial 14 days of Premium · Card No card for the usual trial · Then Priced by country (€57.49 a year in Italy)Try free
BitwardenYes, unlimited devicesFree trial 14 days, Families plan only · Card Needed for the trial · Then $1.65 a month ($19.80 a year)Try free
NordPassOne active sessionFree trial No, 30-day money-back · Then $1.39 a month on the 2-year planTry free- Proton PassYes, unlimited devicesFree trial Only through a friend's link · Then $2.99 a month yearly, $4.99 monthlyTry free
RoboFormYes, one deviceFree trial 30 days of Premium · Card Not stated · Then $2.49 a month, billed yearlyTry free
Enpass25 items, 1 vaultFree trial Not stated · Then $1.99 a month, billed yearlyTry free
– means their own pages do not say.
Which one to start with
- You use one computer and one phone. Skip LastPass Free (one device type) and NordPass Free (one active session). Bitwarden and Proton Pass are free on every device.
- You only use Apple, or only Chrome. The free manager already built in may be all you need: Apple Passwords, Google Password Manager or Microsoft Edge.
- You want to try a paid one first. LastPass and Keeper give 30 days with no card. 1Password and Dashlane give 14.
- You want it cheap for years. NordPass and Bitwarden are the cheapest, but their prices need a year or two paid at once.
Paid password managers and their trials
Read on each company's pricing and help pages on 2 October 2026. Prices in US dollars unless stated.
- Free plan
- Yes, one device type
- Free trial
- 30 days of Premium
- Card
- No card
- Then
- $3 a month, billed yearly
The price is the one their page loads from LastPass's own price list.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“30-day free LastPass Premium trial, no credit card required.”
“Limited to 1 device type and basic password management features.”
- Free plan
- 1 phone, 10 records
- Free trial
- 30 days
- Card
- No card
- Then
- $3.58 a month ($42.99 a year)
When the trial ends you drop to Keeper Free, which holds 10 records. Price from Keeper's own US price feed.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“During your 30-day free trial of Keeper Unlimited, you’ll have access to all of the premium features included in Keeper Unlimited.”
“After your trial expires, you’ll be downgraded to the Keeper Free Version with limited features and functionality.”
1Password
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- 14 days
- Card
- No card, depending on the offer
- Then
- $2.99 a month the first year, then $3.99
Both prices are billed yearly. The $2.99 is for new customers who buy on 1Password.com, not in an app store.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“Yes. You can try 1Password Individual or Families free for 14 days before choosing a plan.”
“In USD, the Individual plan costs $2.99 per month with annual billing during the current promotion.”
- Free plan
- No, ended Sept 2025
- Free trial
- 14 days of Premium
- Card
- No card for the usual trial
- Then
- Priced by country (€57.49 a year in Italy)
Some special trials ask for payment details. If you did not add any, the trial simply stops.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“The Dashlane Free plan ends Sept. 16, 2025.”
“If you didn't insert any payment details at the start of your Premium trial, it will end automatically at the end of the trial period. You don't need to cancel or stop autorenewal.”
- Free plan
- Yes, unlimited devices
- Free trial
- 14 days, Families plan only
- Card
- Needed for the trial
- Then
- $1.65 a month ($19.80 a year)
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“The Bitwarden Free plan includes unlimited passwords, unlimited devices, passkey management, and zero-knowledge encryption.”
“Billed annually at $19.80”
- Free plan
- One active session
- Free trial
- No, 30-day money-back
- Then
- $1.39 a month on the 2-year plan
The 2-year plan is $37.53 paid at once for the first 27 months. Prices from NordPass's own price list, before VAT.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“NordPass Free: This version only allows users to have one active session on one device.”
“We have a 30-day money-back guarantee policy for personal account customers: If you wish to claim a refund, you can do so by canceling the subscription within 30 days following the initial purchase of the selected NordPass plan.”
Proton Pass
- Free plan
- Yes, unlimited devices
- Free trial
- Only through a friend's link
- Then
- $2.99 a month yearly, $4.99 monthly
Pass Plus has a 30-day money-back guarantee. A two-week trial comes only with a referral link, with no payment details until it ends.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“Our free and paid plans offer the same level of privacy protection and cover the basic use cases of a password manager (for example, creating, storing, and autofilling unlimited logins on unlimited devices).”
“With our 30-day money-back guarantee, you can try our premium Pass Plus or Proton Unlimited plans risk free.”
RoboForm
- Free plan
- Yes, one device
- Free trial
- 30 days of Premium
- Card
- Not stated
- Then
- $2.49 a month, billed yearly
The trial is mentioned in RoboForm's help center, not on its pricing page.
In their own words(2, checked 2 Oct)
“Unlimited passwords on a single device”
“$2.49 /mo Billed annually”
- Free plan
- 25 items, 1 vault
- Free trial
- Not stated
- Then
- $1.99 a month, billed yearly
Your vault lives in your own cloud (iCloud, Google Drive, Dropbox and others), not on Enpass's servers.
In their own words(1, checked 2 Oct)
“Store up to 25 items in 1 vault”
Free for good
No paid tier for individuals, or a free plan with no device or password limit on the page.
Zoho Vault
- Free plan
- Yes, forever
- Limits
- Unlimited passwords and devices
Free is the only plan for individuals. Paid plans are for teams.
In their own words(1, checked 2 Oct)
“The forever-free edition of our password manager can be used by individuals for personal information and passwords.”
Apple Passwords
- Price
- Free, built in
- Works on
- iPhone, iPad, Mac, Windows via iCloud
In their own words(1, checked 2 Oct)
“Starting in iOS 18, iPadOS 18, macOS Sequoia, and visionOS 2, the Passwords app helps you manage your passwords, passkeys, and verification codes.”
Google Password Manager
- Price
- Built in, no paid tier
- Works on
- Chrome everywhere, Android
In their own words(1, checked 2 Oct)
“Google Password Manager is built in to Chrome (on all platforms) and every Android app.”
Microsoft Edge Password Manager
- Price
- Built in, no paid tier
- Works on
- Edge, with a personal Microsoft account
Microsoft Authenticator stopped filling in passwords in July 2025. Saved passwords now live in Edge.
In their own words(1, checked 2 Oct)
“The password is stored securely and can be reused on any device where you sign in to Edge using your Microsoft account.”
Norton Password Manager
- Price
- Free on PC and phone
In their own words(1, checked 2 Oct)
“Norton Password Manager is free* for PC and mobile but is also included as part of our Norton AntiVirus Plus and Norton 360 security plans for when you need additional security and privacy protection as well as a password manager.”
Read off each company's page by our reader. Open a row for every fact and its sentence.
Password managers in our catalogue 7
Passwords and identity
30 days freeNo cardFree plan
Passwords and identity
30 days freeNo cardFree plan
Passwords and identity
14 days freeNo cardFree planthen €2.49/mo
Passwords and identity
7 days freeNo cardFree planthen €4.50/mo, billed yearly
Passwords and identity
14 days freeFree planthen $1.65/mo, billed yearly
Passwords and identity
No cardFree planthen $3.99/mo
Passwords and identity
14 days freeNo card
Their own words, tool by tool (7)
- Keeper: “During your 30-day free trial of Keeper Unlimited, you’ll have access to all of the premium features included in Keeper Unlimited.”
- LastPass: “30-day free LastPass Premium trial, no credit card required.”
- NordPass: “Start your 14-day NordPass business trial”
- Passbolt: “Your first 7 days are on us.”
- Bitwarden: “Start Free 14 Day Trial”
- Enpass: “You don't need a credit card.”
- Dashlane: “Buy now Try free for 14 days”
Questions
Which password manager is completely free?
Bitwarden, Proton Pass and Zoho Vault have free plans with unlimited passwords on unlimited devices. Norton Password Manager is free on PC and mobile, and Apple, Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have free managers built in.
Does 1Password have a free plan?
No. 1Password has no free plan, only a 14-day free trial of Individual or Families. After that it costs $2.99 a month for new customers in the first year, billed yearly, then $3.99.
Is Dashlane still free?
No. Dashlane ended its free plan on September 16, 2025. It now offers a 14-day Premium trial, which needs no card unless you start one of its special trials.
How long is the LastPass free trial?
30 days of LastPass Premium, with no credit card required. After it you can stay on LastPass Free, which works on one device type only: computer or mobile.
Does NordPass have a free trial?
No. NordPass has a free plan limited to one active session on one device, and a 30-day money-back guarantee on its paid plans. You pay first and can ask for a refund within 30 days.
How we checked
Every fact here comes from the company’s own page, with the sentence it is in. The facts checked for this guide show the day we read them. The tables come from our catalogue, which re-reads each price page on its own. When a page does not say something, we write that, and we never guess. How we check