Real founder MRR: coffounder.com →
SaaSTrials

Free Google courses with a certificate October 2026

Which Google certificates cost nothing and which ones you pay for, read on Google's own pages. Many courses are free. Google's Career Certificates are not, but they cost less in India and Pakistan.

Checked by hand on 16 October 2026, on each company’s own pages.All 182 quotes re-checked 22h ago and still there.

The short answer

If you read nothing else, read this.

  • Free course, free certificate: Skillshop's Google Ads and Google Analytics certifications, Kaggle Learn, Google Play Academy and the Gemini Certified Student exam. Google Skills, DeepMind's AI Research Foundations and the Machine Learning Crash Course give free badges instead.
  • Career Certificates cost money: on Coursera, "Enroll for free" only starts a 7-day free trial. Then it is $49 a month in the US and Canada and $20 a month in India and Pakistan. Google AI Essentials is not free either.
  • How to pay nothing: apply for financial aid on Coursera, or for a Google scholarship. Google's pages list 100,000 in India, 45,000 in Pakistan (through TechValley) and 16,000 in Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • The catches: some IT Support and UX Design modules need a PC or Mac. Google's page for Sub-Saharan Africa asks you to upload a government ID. Skillshop certifications last 1 year, then you take the exam again.
  • Closed or changed: Google Digital Garage closed in 2025. Its free course, Fundamentals of Digital Marketing, now gives an award, which Google says "is not a formal credential". The TensorFlow Developer Certificate exam is closed.

Quick picks

Free certificate, for marketing

Google Skillshop

Free, valid 1 year

Google Ads and Google Analytics certifications. You usually need 80% to pass. Works in a phone browser.

Free certificate, for students

Gemini Certified Student

Free, valid 3 years

A multiple choice exam on Gemini's free features, up to 2 hours. One version for ages 13 to 17, one for college students.

Free certificate, for AI and code

Kaggle Learn

Free, for each course

Python, machine learning, SQL and AI ethics. A few hours each, in your browser. You can start with no coding at all.

Career Certificate, India and Pakistan

Google Career Certificates

$20 a month

It is $49 a month in the US. Financial aid on Coursera, or a Google scholarship, can make it free.

Compare them all

All 29, side by side. Tap a name for the sentences behind it.

Free course and free certificate

The certificate costs money

  • Google AI Essentials$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course Not free, 7-day trial · Length Under 5 hours · Level Beginner, no experienceOpen
  • Google AI Professional Certificate$49 a month (US)Course Not free · Length 8 courses, about 1 hour each · Level Beginner, no AI experienceOpen
  • Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Certificate$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length 6 months, 10 hours a week · Level Beginner, no experienceOpen
  • Google Cybersecurity Certificate$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length 6 months, 7 hours a week · Level Beginner, no experienceOpen
  • Google Data Analytics Certificate$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length 6 months, 10 hours a week · Level Beginner, no experienceOpen
  • Google IT Support Certificate$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length 3 months, 10 hours a week · Level Beginner, no experienceOpen
  • Google Project Management Certificate$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length 6 months, 10 hours a week · Level Beginner, no experienceOpen
  • Google UX Design Certificate$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length 6 months, 10 hours a week · Level Beginner, no design experienceOpen
  • Advanced Google Career Certificates (Data Analytics, Business Intelligence, IT Automation)$49 a month (US)Course 7-day free trial, then paid · Length Not the same for each · Level After a first Google certificateOpen
  • Google Prompting Essentials$49 a month (US)Course Not free, 7-day trial · Length Under 10 hours · Level BeginnerOpen
  • Accelerate Your Job Search with AIPaid, price not shownCourse Not free · Length 6 to 8 hours · Level No experience neededOpen
  • Google Cloud Certificates (on Google Skills)$29 a monthCourse Paid; free only through schools · Length 40 to 90 hours · Level Beginner, nothing needed firstOpen
  • Google Cloud certification exams (Generative AI Leader and more)Exam fee, $99 to $200Course Free learning path (AI Leader) · Length Exam: 90 minutes to 2 hours · Level AI Leader: nothing required firstOpen

For students

  • Gemini Certified StudentFree, valid 3 yearsCourse Free videos to prepare · Length Exam: up to 2 hours · Level Ages 13 to 17, and collegeOpen
  • Google Skills credits for college studentsFree skill badgesCourse 200 free credits · Level College studentsOpen
  • AI for Students (Grow with Google)None; prep for the Gemini examCourse Free videos · Length Videos of 2 to 10 minutes · Level StudentsOpen
  • Applied Digital SkillsNot stated on its pagesCourse Free video lessons · Length Over 100 hours in all · Level Grades 7 to 12, and adultsOpen

For teachers

Closed or changed

– means their own pages do not say.

Free course and free certificate

The course and the certificate or badge cost nothing. Most ask you to pass a test first. Each card says if you get a certificate or a badge. Read on Google's own pages on 16 October 2026.

Google Skillshop (Google Ads and Analytics certifications)

Certificate
Free, valid 1 year
Course
Free
Length
About 1 to 4 hours each
Level
For anyone
On a phone
Yes (Android 9+, iOS 12.4+)

Free certifications for Google Ads, Google Analytics and Display & Video 360, and the badge is free too. You usually need 80% to pass. If you fail, wait 24 hours and try again. A certification lasts one year, then you take the exam again. It works in a phone browser. One catch: a Google help page from January 2024 says the newer Professional certifications are open only to some people for now, and will need a fee in the future. The basic ones stay free.

In their own words(9, checked 16 Oct)
“Skillshop is available at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“No. Digital badges are part of your Google certification benefits.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Unless it’s stated otherwise in the issued certificate, all Skillshop certifications are valid for one year from the date of certification.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“But depending on the assessment, you’ll need a score of 80% or greater to pass.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“If you don’t pass, you’ll need to wait 24 hours before you can take it again.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Skillshop is also supported by the following mobile devices:”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Professional Certifications are currently available only to a limited audience.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“In the future, these exams will require a fee.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Foundational certifications continue to be available free of charge.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com

Kaggle Learn (Python, Machine Learning, SQL and more)

Certificate
Free, for each course
Course
Free
Length
A few hours each
Level
From zero coding

Short lessons that run in your browser. New to code? Start with Intro to Programming, then Python, Intro to Machine Learning (about 3 hours), Intro to SQL or Intro to AI Ethics. Your certificates are under the Completed tab, and you can share them on LinkedIn. Kaggle says you need to verify a phone number to make an account.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“No cost, like all Kaggle Learn Courses”
Checked 16 Oct 2026kaggle.com
“For every course you finish, you'll earn a completion certificate!”
Checked 16 Oct 2026kaggle.com
“Get started with Python, if you have no coding experience.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026kaggle.com
“Hours to earn certificate 3 (estimated)”
Checked 16 Oct 2026kaggle.com
“You can easily share your certificate with your Twitter or LinkedIn followers by clicking on the social sharing links on your certificate page.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026kaggle.com
“Yes, verifying your phone number is required to set up an account on Kaggle.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026kaggle.com

Google Play Academy (Store Listing Certificate)

Certificate
Free, valid 36 months
Course
Free
Length
Lessons under 10 minutes
Level
App makers and marketers
Exam
Up to 5 hours, 4 tries

For people who make or market apps on Google Play. The lessons and the exam are free. You get 4 tries at the exam, and after a fail it locks for 24 hours. You need a strong, steady internet connection for the exam.

In their own words(7, checked 16 Oct)
“Google Play Academy is available at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com
“The exam is available at no charge.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com
“Your certificate expires 36 months after you receive your digital badge.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com
“You can attempt to pass the exam 4 times.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com
“If you attempt the exam and do not pass, the exam will be temporarily "locked" for 24 hours before you can take it again.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com
“You have 5 hours to complete the exam.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com
“Important: You need a strong and reliable internet connection to complete the exam.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026playacademy.withgoogle.com

Google Skills (Introduction to Generative AI and skill badges)

Certificate
Free badges, not a certificate
Course
Free, plus 35 lab credits a month
Length
45 minutes (first course)
Level
Introductory

Google Cloud Skills Boost is now called Google Skills. You earn digital badges here, not certificates. Video courses are free. Skill badges need hands-on labs, and most labs use credits: the free plan gives 35 credits a month, and Pro costs $29 a month. Claiming your badges on Credly is free, and you can link them from LinkedIn. Our button opens a beginner path that starts with Introduction to Generative AI. College students can ask for 200 free credits (see For students).

In their own words(7, checked 16 Oct)
“Our no-cost Introduction to Generative AI course is a great place to start.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“It takes about 45 minutes to finish.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“35 free credits every month”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skills.google
“$29 / month”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skills.google
“Most labs require a subscription or credits to access.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“No, claiming and managing your Google Skills badges on Credly is free.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“For example, you could add a link to your LinkedIn profile that points to your badge.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com

Google DeepMind (AI Research Foundations)

Certificate
Free badge for each course
Course
Free, anywhere
Length
6 hours (first course)
Level
Intermediate, needs Python

You build and train a small language model in Python. It is made for university students who know Python and study computer science, math, physics or another technical subject. Google built it with African learners in mind, but it is free for learners anywhere. The first course takes 6 hours, and each course gives a badge.

In their own words(4, checked 16 Oct)
“While built with African communities in mind, it’s available at no cost to learners around the world.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“Earn a badge today!”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skills.google
“6 hours”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skills.google
“It is designed for university students and community learners who are proficient in python, and studying computer science, math, physics or other technical subjects.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skills.google

Machine Learning Crash Course (Google for Developers)

Certificate
Free badges, no certificate
Course
Free
Length
About 15 hours
Level
Some Python and math

Each module ends with a quiz. Pass it and you earn a badge on your Google Developer Program profile. There is no certificate. Google says it is easier for beginners now, with videos and exercises, but the exercises are in Python and you need some algebra and statistics. It now has lessons on large language models.

In their own words(5, checked 16 Oct)
“Learn fundamental machine learning concepts and principles with this free, online 15-hour self-study course.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“At the end of each module, you can take a quiz to test your knowledge and earn a badge of completion.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“More approachable and fun for beginners, with videos, interactive visualizations, and exercises.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“Ideally, you should have some experience programming in Python because the programming exercises are in Python.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026developers.google.com
“An introduction to large language models, from tokens to Transformers.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026developers.google.com

The certificate costs money

Most are on Coursera. There, "Enroll for free" only starts a 7-day free trial. Then you pay every month: $49 in the US and Canada, $20 in India and Pakistan, and Google says it may be less in other countries.

Google AI Essentials

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
Not free, 7-day trial
Length
Under 5 hours
Level
Beginner, no experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

Not free, even though the button says "Enroll for free". That starts a 7-day trial, then a monthly plan on Coursera: $49 in the US and Canada, $20 in India and Pakistan. If you cannot pay, apply for financial aid. In Pakistan, TechValley also gives scholarships for it. Google says it takes under 5 hours.

In their own words(7, checked 16 Oct)
“No, you cannot take this course for free.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In the U.S. and Canada, the subscription cost is $49 USD per month after an initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“If you cannot afford the fee, you can apply for financial aid.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“We’ve teamed up with TechValley to offer scholarships to Pakistani freelancers, students & women in need.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“<5 hours to complete”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Google AI Professional Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US)
Course
Not free
Length
8 courses, about 1 hour each
Level
Beginner, no AI experience
Financial aid
Yes, but no AI Pro trial

Google's old Prompting Essentials page now shows this certificate instead. It costs $49 a month in the US and Canada, and Coursera says prices may vary in other countries. Financial aid is offered, but then you do not get the 3-month Google AI Pro trial. It is free only for some small businesses in the US. It carries no university credit. Google's page says eight courses in one place and seven in another.

In their own words(7, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, the subscription cost is $49 per month.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Prices may vary in other countries.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Yes, but learners who receive financial aid will not have access to the 3-month Google AI Pro trial.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“The Google AI Professional Certificate is made up of eight courses that can be completed in about an hour each.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“After you complete all seven courses, you’ll earn a certificate from Google to share with your professional network and potential employers.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“This program does not carry university credit.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“This offer is specifically available to small and medium-sized businesses based in the United States.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
6 months, 10 hours a week
Level
Beginner, no experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

To pay nothing, apply for financial aid on Coursera, or for a Google scholarship (see the tip above): Google's India page lists 100,000 and its Pakistan page 45,000. For a free Google marketing certification, take the Skillshop Google Ads or Analytics exams instead.

In their own words(8, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“6 months at 10 hours a week”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Financial aid available, learn more”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“To make acquiring new digital skills accessible to more people, we are distributing 100,000 scholarships, in collaboration with NASSCOM Foundation, Tata STRIVE, and Safeducate.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Google has also funded 45,000 scholarships for Google Career Certificates, which will be distributed by Grow with Google partners TechValley.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“If you are an individual, you can apply for financial support via partner NGOs and universities.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Google Cybersecurity Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
6 months, 7 hours a week
Level
Beginner, no experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

Graduates get a discount on CompTIA Security+, a separate paid exam. Google's page for Sub-Saharan Africa lists 16,000 scholarships, which make the courses free while you have one. The same page says you need to upload a government ID.

In their own words(9, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“6 months at 7 hours a week”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Financial aid available, learn more”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Graduates of the Google Cybersecurity Certificate can access the CompTIA Security+ exam and training at a discounted price.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“16,000 scholarships to help those who need it to access the certificates.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“The Google Career Certificate Scholarship Program gives you access to take the certificate courses free of charge as long as you are in receipt of the scholarship.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“You will need to upload a copy of a valid Government issued ID.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Google Data Analytics Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
6 months, 10 hours a week
Level
Beginner, no experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

It teaches Python. With financial aid you get full access to everything you need for the certificate. Signing up also comes with 3 months of Google AI Pro: Google asks for a payment method, and after 3 months it renews at $19.99 a month unless you cancel.

In their own words(8, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“6 months at 10 hours a week”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“This program teaches the open-source programming language, Python.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Recipients of financial aid will have full access to course content and assignments required to earn a certificate.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“A valid payment method is required at sign-up, but you are not charged until the 3-month period is over.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“The plan renews at the standard rate of $19.99 per month.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Google IT Support Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
3 months, 10 hours a week
Level
Beginner, no experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera
On a phone
Not all of it

A phone is not enough: Google says some modules need apps that only run on a PC or Mac. Coursera's page does not print the price, so the US price here is from Google's page.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, the subscription cost is $49 USD per month after an initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“3 months at 10 hours a week”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“You can take most Google Career Certificates using a browser or Coursera app but some modules in IT Support and UX Design will require you to download some applications that work only on PC/Mac.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Financial aid available, learn more”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org

Google Project Management Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
6 months, 10 hours a week
Level
Beginner, no experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

Google says 3 months at about 20 hours a week, or 6 months at 10. Graduates get over 100 hours of project management education that count toward PMI certifications, at a discount. Those are separate paid exams.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“The Google Project Management Certificate can be completed in three months working approximately 20 hours per week, or in six months working 10 hours per week.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In addition, graduates of the Google Project Management Certificate will qualify for over 100 hours of project management education that apply to PMI credentials at a discounted price.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Financial aid available, learn more”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org

Google UX Design Certificate

Certificate
$49 a month (US), $20 (India, Pakistan)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
6 months, 10 hours a week
Level
Beginner, no design experience
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera
On a phone
Not all of it

You learn Figma, the design tool. A phone is not enough: Google says some modules need apps that only run on a PC or Mac.

In their own words(8, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In India, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In Pakistan, the subscription cost is $20 USD per month after an initial 7-day trial period at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“6 months at 10 hours a week”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Financial aid available, learn more”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Figma is the design tool taught in this certificate program.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“No prior experience with design or specific tool is required for the Google UX Design Certificate.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“You can take most Google Career Certificates using a browser or Coursera app but some modules in IT Support and UX Design will require you to download some applications that work only on PC/Mac.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Advanced Google Career Certificates (Data Analytics, Business Intelligence, IT Automation)

Certificate
$49 a month (US)
Course
7-day free trial, then paid
Length
Not the same for each
Level
After a first Google certificate

Not for beginners. Each one builds on a first Google certificate (Data Analytics or IT Support) or the same experience. The price works like the others: $49 a month in the US and Canada after a 7-day free trial, and Google says it may be less in other countries. Business Intelligence takes less than 2 months and Advanced Data Analytics less than 6. Google gives no length for IT Automation with Python.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“In the U.S. and Canada, the subscription cost is $49 USD per month after an initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“In other countries where Google Career Certificates are available, your cost may be lower.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“This program builds on the Data Analytics Certificate or equivalent experience.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“The Google IT Automation with Python Certificate is designed for graduates of the Google IT Support Certificate or people with equivalent information technology experience.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“With the Google Business Intelligence Certificate you’ll learn data modeling, data visualization, dashboarding, and reporting in less than two months.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“With the Google Advanced Data Analytics Certificate you’ll learn statistical analysis, Python, regression models, and machine learning in less than six months.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Google Prompting Essentials

Certificate
$49 a month (US)
Course
Not free, 7-day trial
Length
Under 10 hours
Level
Beginner
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

Still sold on Coursera, but Google's own Prompting Essentials page now shows the Google AI Professional Certificate instead. Coursera says you cannot take it for free. There is a 7-day trial, and Coursera says prices may vary in other countries. It takes under 10 hours.

In their own words(5, checked 16 Oct)
“No, you cannot take this course for free.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“Prices may vary in other countries.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“If you cannot afford the fee, you can apply for financial aid.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“The program takes less than 10 hours to complete.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org

Accelerate Your Job Search with AI

Certificate
Paid, price not shown
Course
Not free
Length
6 to 8 hours
Level
No experience needed
Financial aid
Yes, on Coursera

Coursera says you cannot take it for free, but neither Google nor Coursera shows the price. Coursera's Data Analytics page offers it as a bonus course to people in that certificate. It teaches job search with Gemini, Gemini Notebook and Career Dreamer. Google says 6 hours; Coursera shows 8.

In their own words(5, checked 16 Oct)
“No, you cannot take this course for free.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“If you cannot afford the fee, you can apply for financial aid.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“6 hours to complete”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“8 hours to complete”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org
“In addition to expert-led training and hands-on projects designed to prepare you for a job, you now have exclusive access to a bonus course:”
Checked 16 Oct 2026coursera.org

Google Cloud Certificates (on Google Skills)

Certificate
$29 a month
Course
Paid; free only through schools
Length
40 to 90 hours
Level
Beginner, nothing needed first

Google Cloud's own beginner certificates (Data Analytics, Cybersecurity, Computing Foundations), not the Career Certificates on Coursera. On your own, you pay $29 a month on Google Skills. They are free only through a school, government or nonprofit program in Google's Career Launchpad, and its staff apply for it. You get a certificate you can share, through Credly. Google gives two lengths on the same page: 40 to 90 hours, and about 90 hours.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“Start a $29 USD monthly subscription on Google Skills to complete the Google Cloud Certificates.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“For higher education, and government or nonprofit workforce institutions, the certificates are available at no cost through the Google Career Launchpad program.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Faculty and administrators can confirm eligibility and apply to facilitate the Google Career Launchpad program for their learners.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Once you finish the learning path, you will earn a shareable digital credential that you can access through Credly and add to your resume or social media.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Each Google Cloud certificate ranges from 40-90 hours of study.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“You should plan ahead and set aside time to study, as each certificate requires about 90 hours to complete.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com

Google Cloud certification exams (Generative AI Leader and more)

Certificate
Exam fee, $99 to $200
Course
Free learning path (AI Leader)
Length
Exam: 90 minutes to 2 hours
Level
AI Leader: nothing required first

Industry certifications with a paid exam, taken while a supervisor watches (a proctored exam). Google calls the Generative AI Leader learning path a no-cost option. That exam costs $99 and lasts 90 minutes, with nothing required before it, and the certification lasts 3 years. Associate Cloud Engineer costs $125 and Professional Cloud Architect $200, plus tax where it applies. We found no vouchers or aid for individuals on these pages.

In their own words(7, checked 16 Oct)
“It offers extensive no-cost options for learners at every level, like our Generative AI Leader learning path.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“The certification process involves passing a proctored exam.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skills.google
“Registration fee: $99 (plus tax where applicable)”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Length: 90 minutes”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Validity period: 3 years”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Registration fee: $125 (plus tax where applicable)”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Registration fee: $200 (plus tax where applicable)”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com

For students

For school, college and university students.

Gemini Certified Student

Certificate
Free, valid 3 years
Course
Free videos to prepare
Length
Exam: up to 2 hours
Level
Ages 13 to 17, and college

There are two versions: one for college and university students (18+), and one for ages 13 to 17. The younger version opens only after you finish a starter course. The multiple choice exam covers only Gemini's free features. Prepare with Google's free AI for Students videos (below); Google also suggests AI Essentials, but that course is paid. If you fail, you can try again after 8 days. Google's help page lists Hindi and Arabic among the exam languages, but at launch Google said student exams would be translated later, so check yours.

In their own words(9, checked 16 Oct)
“Valid for 3 years | Free of charge”
Checked 16 Oct 2026edu.google.com
“This certification is designed to equip college and university students with the skills to use Gemini tools responsibly and effectively for academic success and problem-solving.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“This certification is designed to empower students ages 13 to 17 to become responsible and informed users of generative AI.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“To unlock the certification exam, students must first successfully complete a foundational course.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“The exam will focus on free features of Google's AI tool, Gemini, making it accessible to all students.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“(Optional) Take the AI Essentials course”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“If a candidate does not pass the exam, they may retake it 8 days after the initial attempt.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Currently the exams are available in the following languages: Arabic, Dutch, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish (Latina America), Swedish, US English, and UK English.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“They’ll be available in 12 languages starting today, with localization coming to student exams soon, and an exam for university faculty coming next month.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google

Google Skills credits for college students

Certificate
Free skill badges
Course
200 free credits
Level
College students
Credits last
1 year

College and university students can ask for 200 Google Skills credits for hands-on labs and skill badges. Apply with your school email address. Only students in some countries can apply; India, Pakistan and Nigeria were on Google's list when we checked. The credits expire one year after you get them. Google also has games and challenges for students that give badges.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“Students can request access to free online labs, skill badges, and courses through Google Skills.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com
“Students are eligible for 200 Google Skills credits”
Checked 16 Oct 2026services.google.com
“Eligibility is limited to currently enrolled college & university students at accredited institutions in eligible countries”
Checked 16 Oct 2026services.google.com
“Please provide your institutional email address.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026services.google.com
“Please note that credits expire one year after they are issued.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026services.google.com
“Complete games and challenges, and earn badges that celebrate your progress!”
Checked 16 Oct 2026cloud.google.com

AI for Students (Grow with Google)

Certificate
None; prep for the Gemini exam
Course
Free videos
Length
Videos of 2 to 10 minutes
Level
Students

Short free videos on using Gemini and Gemini Notebook (the new name for NotebookLM) for homework, exam prep and job search. There is no certificate here. Google points to these videos to prepare for the free Gemini Certified Student exam (above).

In their own words(4, checked 16 Oct)
“AI for Students: Free Study, Writing, & Career Tools & Training”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Discover how AI tools can boost your schoolwork and kickstart your career.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“NotebookLM is called Gemini Notebook as of July 2026”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Prepare by taking our AI student training”
Checked 16 Oct 2026edu.google.com

Applied Digital Skills

Certificate
Not stated on its pages
Course
Free video lessons
Length
Over 100 hours in all
Level
Grades 7 to 12, and adults

Free video lessons on everyday digital skills, such as email and spreadsheets. Pick single lessons; there are more than 100 hours in all. Google's pages do not say if you get a certificate, so do not count on one.

In their own words(4, checked 16 Oct)
“Teach and learn practical digital skills needed for the jobs of today and tomorrow with our video lessons that are free of charge”
Checked 16 Oct 2026applieddigitalskills.withgoogle.com
“With more than 100 hours of curriculum, Applied Digital Skills teaches a wide range of lessons in computer and digital literacy using practical soft skills for life and work.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“presented in digestible activities for 7th-12th grade or adult learners”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Applied Digital Skills is a flexible video-based curriculum that prepares students for the growing number of jobs that require basic digital skills, such as email and spreadsheets.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

For teachers

Free certificates for teachers, from Google for Education.

Google Certified Educator (Level 1 and Level 2)

Certificate
Free now (an old page says $10, $25)
Length
Exam: 2 or 3 hours
Level
Teachers
Valid
36 months

Google's own pages disagree on the price. The Help Center says "The exams are free of charge for all available languages", and the certifications page says "Free of charge". But an older FAQ on edu.google.com still says "$10 for Google Certified Educator Level 1" and "$25 for Google Certified Educator Level 2". We go with the Help Center and the certifications page, which are current; check the price when you register. The exam has 37 multiple choice questions in 2 hours, or 3 hours with lab tasks. You need the latest version of Chrome.

In their own words(9, checked 16 Oct)
“The exams are free of charge for all available languages.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Valid for 3 years | Free of charge”
Checked 16 Oct 2026edu.google.com
“$10 for Google Certified Educator Level 1”
Checked 16 Oct 2026edu.google.com
“$25 for Google Certified Educator Level 2”
Checked 16 Oct 2026edu.google.com
“37 multiple choice questions”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Two (2) hours to complete the exam”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Three (3) hours to complete the exam”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“These certifications are valid for 36 months.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Yes, you must be using the latest version of Chrome in order to start the certification exams.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com

Gemini Certified Educator

Certificate
Free, valid 3 years
Length
Exam: up to 2 hours
Level
Teachers

A free exam on using Gemini in your teaching. Pass it to get a digital certificate you can share, for example for professional development (PD) credit. The exam is multiple choice and takes up to 2 hours.

In their own words(5, checked 16 Oct)
“The Educator Gemini certification registration is free of charge.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“All certification exams are multiple choice and offered completely free of charge.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“Those who successfully pass the assessment will be awarded a verifiable and easy-to-share digital certificate, which they can use for PD credits or showcase to their broader education community.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026blog.google
“The validity period for Gemini certifications is 3 years.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“After clicking TAKE EXAM, you will have 2 hours to complete the exam.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com

Generative AI for Educators with Gemini

Certificate
Free, after an optional test
Course
Free
Length
About 2 hours
Level
Middle and high school teachers
Language
English only for now

A 2-hour course for middle and high school teachers of any subject, with no tech skills needed. Take the optional final test to get a certificate of completion. Your school district decides if it counts for professional development credit.

In their own words(6, checked 16 Oct)
“The Generative AI for Educators with Gemini course is provided at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“To receive a certificate of completion, you can take an optional final assessment.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026edu.exceedlms.com
“After completing the course, teachers earn a certificate that they can present to their district for professional development (PD) credit, depending on district and state requirements.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Generative AI for Educators with Gemini is a two-hour, self-paced course”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Generative AI for Educators with Gemini is designed for high school and middle school educators of any subject, with no technical experience required.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google
“Generative AI for Educators with Gemini is currently available in English, and we are working to offer this course in additional languages.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026grow.google

Closed or changed

Older answers still send people to these. Here is what changed.

Google Digital Garage

Ended
Certificate
Closed in 2025
Course
Moved to Skillshop

Google closed Digital Garage in 2025. In February and March 2025 it told users to download their old certificates before the site went offline. Google can no longer make those certificates again. Its free course lives on as Fundamentals of Digital Marketing (next card).

In their own words(4, checked 16 Oct)
“The deprecation process began in early 2025.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Active users were sent initial notifications on February 6, 2025, and final reminders on March 4, 2025, advising them to manually download their historical certificates before the platform went permanently offline.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Certificates issued in previous years under Digital Garage are no longer accessible or supported.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Because that platform infrastructure has been entirely retired, we can no longer issue or regenerate these older certificate layouts.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com

Fundamentals of Digital Marketing (new version)

Certificate
Free award, not a certificate
Course
Free
Length
17 modules
Final test
None

The free course from Digital Garage, now on Skillshop. It is still free, with 17 modules and no final test. But now you get an "award" (a digital badge) instead of a certificate, and it has no Google logo. Google says an award "is not a formal credential, but certifications are". You can add the award to LinkedIn. For a free Google certification in marketing, take the Skillshop Google Ads or Analytics exams (above).

In their own words(7, checked 16 Oct)
“Access to the Skillshop platform, awards and most certifications are available at no cost.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Go at your own pace and explore 17 modules packed with practical exercises and real-world examples, gaining actionable insights that you can apply to grow your business or career.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026skillshop.exceedlms.com
“The new version of FoDM does not require a separate final assessment.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Upon completing the newly enrolled course, you will receive an official award (digital badge) instead of a traditional certificate.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Please note that there is no Google logo on any of the generated awards.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Keep in mind, an award in Skillshop is not a formal credential, but certifications are.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com
“Use the sharing options to add your award to external platforms like LinkedIn.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026support.google.com

TensorFlow Developer Certificate

Ended
Certificate
Exam closed
Old certificates
Valid 3 years from passing

Google closed the exam while it decides what comes next. If you passed before, your certificate stays valid for 3 years from the day you passed. For a free Google certificate or badge in machine learning today, try Kaggle Learn or the Machine Learning Crash Course badges.

In their own words(2, checked 16 Oct)
“While we evaluate the next step in our certificate program, we have closed the TensorFlow Certificate exam.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026tensorflow.org
“Your credentials are valid for 3 years from the date that you passed the exam.”
Checked 16 Oct 2026tensorflow.org

Questions

Are Google certificates free?

Some are. Free course and free certificate or badge: Skillshop's Google Ads and Google Analytics certifications, Kaggle Learn, Google Play Academy, Google Skills badges, the Machine Learning Crash Course badges and the Gemini Certified Student and Educator exams. Google's Career Certificates on Coursera are not free: after a 7-day free trial they cost $49 a month in the US and Canada and $20 a month in India and Pakistan, unless you get financial aid or a scholarship.

Are there free Google AI courses with a certificate?

Yes. Kaggle Learn gives a free certificate for each course, such as Intro to Machine Learning (about 3 hours). The Gemini Certified Student exam is free and lasts 3 years. Google Skills (Introduction to Generative AI, 45 minutes), DeepMind's AI Research Foundations and the Machine Learning Crash Course (about 15 hours) give free badges, not certificates. Google AI Essentials and the Google AI Professional Certificate are paid.

Is the Google AI Essentials certificate free?

No. Coursera's own page says "No, you cannot take this course for free." The "Enroll for free" button starts a 7-day trial. After that it costs $49 a month in the US and Canada and $20 a month in India and Pakistan. You can apply for financial aid on Coursera. In Pakistan, Google also points to TechValley scholarships for freelancers, students and women in need.

Are there free Google courses with a certificate for students?

Yes. The Gemini Certified Student exam is free and lasts 3 years, with one version for ages 13 to 17 and one for college students. Prepare with Google's free AI for Students videos. College and university students can also ask for 200 free Google Skills credits for labs and skill badges, with a school email; India, Pakistan and Nigeria were on Google's list of countries when we checked. Kaggle Learn and Skillshop are free for students too.

Can I get a free Google certificate in Pakistan or India?

Yes. Skillshop, Kaggle Learn, Google Skills badges and the Gemini Certified Student exam cost nothing. Google's Career Certificates cost $20 a month in India and Pakistan after a 7-day trial, not $49 as in the US. To pay nothing, apply for financial aid on Coursera, or for a Google scholarship: Google's Pakistan page lists 45,000 through TechValley (apply through partner NGOs and universities), and its India page lists 100,000 through NASSCOM Foundation, Tata STRIVE and Safeducate.

Is there a free Google digital marketing course with a certificate?

Yes. Skillshop's Google Ads and Google Analytics certifications are free, badge included, and last one year. You usually need 80% to pass. Fundamentals of Digital Marketing, the old Digital Garage course, is also free (17 modules), but it now gives an award, which Google says is not a formal credential. The Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Certificate on Coursera is paid: $49 a month in the US, $20 in India and Pakistan.

Is there a free Google cybersecurity course with a certificate?

Only with aid. The Google Cybersecurity Certificate on Coursera costs $49 a month in the US and Canada and $20 a month in India and Pakistan, after a 7-day free trial. You can apply for financial aid, or for a Google scholarship in India, Pakistan or Sub-Saharan Africa. Google Cloud's own Cybersecurity Certificate costs $29 a month on Google Skills, and is free only through schools and programs in Google's Career Launchpad.

Do Google certificates expire?

Some do. Skillshop certifications, like Google Ads and Analytics, last one year. Google Certified Educator lasts 36 months, the Gemini certifications 3 years, and the Google Play Store Listing Certificate 36 months. The Generative AI Leader certification from Google Cloud lasts 3 years. Old TensorFlow Developer Certificates stay valid for 3 years from the day you passed.

How we checked

Every fact here comes from the company’s own page, with the sentence it is in. The facts checked for this guide show the day we read them. The tables come from our catalogue, which re-reads each price page on its own. When a page does not say something, we write that, and we never guess. How we check

More guides